View the most recent posts on the forum.

Author Topic: Altai skishoeing  (Read 17833 times)

Offline redoleary

• Stoking the Woodstove
    • View Profile
Altai skishoeing
« on: November 15, 2011, 04:50:03 pm »
Hey gang, first post here.  The name is Red, and I make an occasional appearance over at solo tripping. I have no real experience with winter camping, the odd one night er here and there but never done the hot tent, pulk pulling, "real" winter camping thing.
I've got a reasonable amount of time on X-country ski's but still wouldn't call myself "experienced" or well educated on the subject, I just put them on and go skiing.
Now living in lower Michigan means I get snow  but not consistently and not really enough to justify snow shoes.... at least I don't think so.  However drive a few hours north and its a diff. story.  However I would imagine I will typically see not much powder, maybe some deepish snow and often some pretty crappy ice covered snow.
All that being said, what would your opinion be on some ski hybrid like the Altai skis  http://www.altaiskis.com/blog/products/the-hok/?
I'm hoping it would be the best of both worlds rather than the worst of both, but lacking the experience to draw from I'm hoping you all will have some input.  I'm imagining using these for both unencumbered back country travel, like a day hike, and pulling a pulk loaded with gear.  Also having perpetually cold feet, I'm leaning toward getting some mukluks and would like your opinion on how mukluks might work with the universal binding shown on the web site.  I could, and still may contact the manufacturer but I'm sure I'll get a slightly biased opinion on the ski's capabilities.  To me it certainly looks like a promising concept, I just don't know if it has to make so many compromises that it ends up not being good at anything.