View the most recent posts on the forum.

Author Topic: Going Down - to the foot region!  (Read 8099 times)

yukon

Re: Going Down - to the foot region!
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2009, 10:49:21 am »
As for the question whether or not wet and warm is healthy, I'd say for a short time only. I have used the US bunny boots that are essentially various layers of rubber and felt welded into a vapour barrier boot. My feet have never been cold in these despite activities at -45. However, my feet get wet and my socks too. So, for foot care, I found I needed to carry a change of socks for everyday on the trail, or be where I could dry them out completely each evening. I have no medical background, but seem to recall, keeping feet wet fro prolonged periods can cause something akin to trenchfoot. I still prefer the dry breathable system of hometanned moosehide, but the snow has to be pretty dry.
Failing that, a sorel derivative and a warmer hat usually works.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2009, 10:52:40 am by yukon »

Offline FlatbowMB

• Stoking the Woodstove
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2009, 08:33:06 pm »
So, for foot care, I found I needed to carry a change of socks for everyday on the trail, or be where I could dry them out completely each evening. I have no medical background, but seem to recall, keeping feet wet fro prolonged periods can cause something akin to trenchfoot. I still prefer the dry breathable system of hometanned moosehide, but the snow has to be pretty dry.
Failing that, a sorel derivative and a warmer hat usually works.