View the most recent posts on the forum.

Author Topic: Which toboggan length?  (Read 1363 times)

Offline Madtrapper

• Coming in From the Cold
    • View Profile
Which toboggan length?
« on: April 11, 2018, 10:30:01 pm »
All,

Okay, this is likely a stupid question but I am new to some of this. I am looking to buy my first proper freight toboggan (uhmwpe). The common lengths I see for sale in Canada are 8' and 10'. I don't live in an area where I can see one of these freight toboggan in person. My situation is this, I have an atuk snowalker tent (10 x 14) and an Alaska Jr stove. I often snowshoe camp etc with my two kids (the oldest can pull some of her own gear). For a 3 night round trip backwood type adventure with two kids what size toboggan am I realistically looking at?

With the kids we rarely go more than a few kms a day. I am tired of my rinky-dink jury rigged home made rigging of a sled.

Is this a simple matter of buying the biggest freight toboggan I can afford to be the best plan?

Thanks,

Tim

Offline Bioguide

• Living Large At -40
    • View Profile
Re: Which toboggan length?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 10:49:59 pm »
11' Snowwalker by Black River Sleds should be near perfect IMO: http://www.blackriversleds.com/index.php/snowshoe-toboggans

Offline K.

• Warming Up
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 07:21:58 am »
All,

With the kids we rarely go more than a few kms a day. I am tired of my rinky-dink jury rigged home made rigging of a sled.

Possible first use of this particular combo in the history of the internet! my guess is with that sort of motivation you'll want the bigger unit. I got a 10' length and have never actually filled it all up, so the tail end just bends up behind the load and it's pretty much a 9' toboggan at that point. But if I ever wanted to pack a chainsaw or a guitar amp, I'd have the room.

Offline Hutchy

• Living Large At -40
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 07:24:38 am »