View the most recent posts on the forum.

Author Topic: Telemark ski bindings  (Read 2741 times)

Offline redneckdan

• Warming Up
    • View Profile
Telemark ski bindings
« on: January 19, 2010, 10:02:22 pm »
Hey yall.  I'm relatively new to winter camping but I'm a telemark ski patroller and know a fair piece about skiing equipment.  I'm posting a quick review of the most common bindings this year.

Black Diamond O1- I ran these on a set of black diamond kilowatts with scrapa t-races and also tried t-3s.  even with the super stiff springs these bindings are not very active at all.  I now have them mounted on a set of rossignol powder birds with the mid-stiff springs, running the scarpa t-3 boots.  I rate them at just above a g3 targa as far as activeness.  However, the free pivot touring is awesome.

22 Designs Hammerhead-  With the Bishop Bomber side lined for the near future this is the binding the hard charging telemarkers should look for.  Put a set of stiff springs in them, set the activeness on position 5, buckle up tight your scarpa t-races or black diamond customs and lay some tele trench.  With 6 screws instead of four its nigh impossible to rip them out of the ski.  They also are rather efficient for touring if you remove the activeness adjustment slider.  Not as free as the O1 when touring but very close.

22 Designs Axel-  This combines the best of both the hammerhead and the O1, only sore spot I can find is its a little harder to get into free pivot mode than the O1 but thats been trivial so far.  For the hard charging resort rider I would still recommend the hammer head over the axel just because of the fact there are fewer failure modes than with the axel.  So far I have not seen a stiffer spring kit.  The stock springs work fine on my kilowatts, but on the fatypus alottas at 140mm underfoot a little more power would be nice.